This is the "Home" page of the "Great Wall of China" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Great Wall of China   Tags: 6th grade, china, history, middle school, sixth grade, social studies  

6th Grade Social Studies
Last Updated: Sep 21, 2015 URL: http://sfusd.libguides.com/GreatWall Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Project Description

Your next project will be to build a scaled segment of the Great Wall of China.

Your project will also have a 2 page typewritten report.

You may work in groups of up to 4 people from either large or small communities.

Seven (7) note cards on Noodletools, including citations, is due on February 7, 2014.

Your rough draft is due on February 14, 2014.

Your project and report are due on February 21, 2014.

In constructing the wall segment make sure you look at the surrounding landscape and environment and its color.

Suggested materials:

  • Styrofoam
  • Cardboard
  • Paint: Tempura: Green, Gray/Silver and Brown
  • Foamboard
  • Shrubs and Landscape
 

Answer these questions about the Great Wall of China

In your typewritten report, use evidence from at least 3 sources to answer the following questions.

The report should be typed in your own words.

All sources must be cited at the end of the report.

The sources cited will be in addition to the 2-page typerwritten report.

Use at least 3 sources (required: at least 1 book, at least 1 database; then all additional are your choice).

  • What was the purpose of the Great Wall?
  • How was the Great Wall of China successful in its purpose? How was it not?
  • Emperor Qin Shi Huangdi, the first emperor of China, ordered that a great wall should be built. Do you think most people agreed with him? Why or why not?
  • What makes it difficult to measure the Great Wall of China? What is the length of the wall?
  • Describe how a Hang-tu wall is built.
  • What do satelite photos reveal about the Great Wall?
  • How did the wall affect the people of China? How does it affect them now?
 

Ebooks from MLK Library related to the Great Wall in China. To view the eBook, log in to Destiny first.

Log in to Destiny here.

Cover Art
Ancient Chinese Civilization - Rupert Matthews; Todd Van Pelt; Francesca D'Ottavi (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781404280359
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
"Ancient Chinese Civilization" brings the world's longest continuous civilization to life in myth and factfrom the dawn of farming and the early bronze-makers, to the great dynasties that united China. Stunningly illustrated historical pages and carefully retold myths introduce young readers to the glories, riches, romance, and mystery of Chinese civilization. Includes sections on creation myths, gods, society, religion, agriculture, medicine, daily life, art, entertainment, war and weapons, inventions and construction, trade, and education, writing, and literature.

Cover Art
Arts and Culture in the Ancient World - Reagan Miller; Hazel Richardson
ISBN: 9780778717324
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
This amazing book provides a snapshot of the arts and cultures across various ancient civilizations. Read about* Egypt's pyramids, temples, royal tombs, and palaces;* Chinese games and pastimes;* Rome's sports arenas--the Colosseum and Circus Maximus.

Cover Art
Technology in the Ancient World - Paul C. Challen; Hazel Richardson
ISBN: 9781427196439
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
This incredible book provides a snapshot of the often surprising technologies developed by various ancient civilizations. Read about* iron smelting by the Celts;* how mummies were made and buried in Egypt;* sword making in Japan.

 

Print Books from MLK Library about the Great Wall of China

Cover Art
You Wouldn't Want to Work on the Great Wall of China! - Jacqueline Morley; David Antram (Illustrator); David Salariya (Designed by)
Call Number: 355 MOR
ISBN: 0531124495
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
You are a poor peasant boy who works with your father to help support your family. You are living in the third century BC under the ruler Qin, the Emperor of China. The Emperor has many unfair laws. Unfortunately, you break one of those laws and are given the punishment of hard labor. You're sentenced to long days of brutal work building the Great Wall of China. This is hard work in the scorching heat of the summer and the bitter cold in the mountains. If it were up to you. You Wouldn't Want to Work on the Great Wall of China.

Cover Art
The Great Wall of China - Lesley A. DuTemple
Call Number: 931 DUT
ISBN: 0822503778
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Great Building Feats shows how and why the world's greatest structures were created, and how engineering, geographical, and technical challenges were overcome during construction. Requiring the best minds of its time, each structure was, and remains, innovative and fascinating in both its creation and appearance. Supports the national curriculum standards Culture; Time, Continuity, and Change; People, Places, and Environments; Individuals, Groups, and Institutions; Power, Authority, and Governance; Science, Technology, and Society; and Global Connections as outlined by the National Council for the Social Studies.

Cover Art
The Great Wall of China - Joseph R. O'Neill
Call Number: 951 ONE
ISBN: 160453513X
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
This title examines an important historic event, the Great Wall of China. Readers will learn the history of China leading up to the construction of the Great Wall, key players and happenings throughout the construction, and the Great Wall's effect on society. Color photos, detailed maps, and informative sidebars accompany easy-to-read, compelling text. Features include a timeline, facts, additional resources, web sites, a glossary, a bibliography, and an index. Essential Events is a series in Essential Library, an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company. Grades 6-9.

Cover Art
The Great Wall of China - Leonard Everett Fisher
Call Number: 931 FIS
ISBN: 0689801785
Publication Date: 1995-08-01

Cover Art
Great Wall of China - Christine Webster
Call Number: 623 WEB
ISBN: 1590367243
Publication Date: 2007-07-01

Cover Art
Ancient China - Jane Shuter
Call Number: 931 SHU
ISBN: 1403459959
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Through archeological excavations and artifacts, readers get the real story of life in ancient civilizations including common experiences for children and adults, as well as comparisons between the lives of different societal classes. Each book explores the idiosyncrasies of daily life in an ancient civilization from religion, to government, to warfare.

Cover Art
Ancient China - Mel Friedman
Call Number: 951 FRI
ISBN: 0531241068
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
The ancient world comes to life as readers learn how families, communities, and governments functioned thousand of years ago. These books explore ancient art, philosophy, math, and science, and how these may still be influencing our thinking today. Full color.

Wikipedia Article about the Great Wall of China

Google Scholar Search for Great Wall of China



CultureGrams Database

World Book Encyclopedia Database

Noodle Tools

Use NoodleTools to organize your information into virtual notecards. 

Username is the same as Schoolloop username

Password is noodletools.

First time log in: go to My Account at top right.
Change password to School Loop password
Then, add your first and last name initials and the last 4 digits of your phone numbers.

A complete notecard will look like this:

  • Title of notecard is one of the bulleted questions under "Answer these questions."
  • Direct quotation=word for word quote from resource
  • Source is linked to source from Works Cited list
  • Paraphrase or summary=direct quotation is rewritten in your own words.

More...

Noodle Tools Lib Guide

NoodleTools
by Tess Henderson - Last Updated Mar 3, 2014
How to use NoodleTools to create works cited lists, notecards and outlines
43 views this year
 

Books from Portola Branch of SF Public Library

Cover Art
The Great Wall of China - Lesley A. DuTemple
ISBN: 9780822503774
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Great Building Feats shows how and why the world's greatest structures were created, and how engineering, geographical, and technical challenges were overcome during construction. Requiring the best minds of its time, each structure was, and remains, innovative and fascinating in both its creation and appearance. Supports the national curriculum standards Culture; Time, Continuity, and Change; People, Places, and Environments; Individuals, Groups, and Institutions; Power, Authority, and Governance; Science, Technology, and Society; and Global Connections as outlined by the National Council for the Social Studies.

Cover Art
The Great Wall of China - Leonard Everett Fisher (Illustrator)
ISBN: 002735220X
Publication Date: 1986-04-30

Cover Art
The Great Wall - John Man
ISBN: 9780306817670
Publication Date: 2008-08-05
The Great Wall of China is a wonder of the world. Every year, hundreds of thousands of tourists take the five-mile journey from Beijing to climb its battlements. While myriad photographs have made this extraordinary landmark familiar to millions more, its story remains mysterious and steeped in myth. In this riveting account, John Man travels the entire length of the Great Wall and across two millennia to find the truth behind the legends. Along the way, he delves into the remarkable and complex history of China—from the country’s tribal past, through the war with the Mongols, right up to the modern day when the Great Wall is once more a commanding emblem of China, the resurgent superpower.


Your turn: more great stuff on Wall of China

Have you found a wonderful source on the Great Wall of China we should know about? Share it here.

 

How does this help me become a better learner?

What Next?

After turning in your project, please fill out this reflection piece. It is part of your class participation grade.
Name *
1. What resources were the most helpful to you? *
Books from MLK Library
Books from SF Public Library
Culture Grams
Google Scholar
Wikipedia
WorldBook
Other
2. If you answered "other" in question 1, please describe the resource.
3. What did I know about research before I started? *
4. What advice would you give to next year's students about completing this project? *
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip