This is the "Home" page of the "SFPL Databases by Subject for High School" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SFPL Databases by Subject for High School   Tags: databases, high school, research, searcher's toolkit, searching, sfpl  

San Francisco Public Library (SFPL) has 90 subscription databases. This guide organizes many of them by high school subject area. A Searcher's Toolkit is available with instructional videos to facilitate student and teacher use of this amazing resource.
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2015 URL: http://sfusd.libguides.com/SFPLdatabasesbysubjectforhighschool Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome!

Hello Burton High School!

This guide will help you find information in the Articles & Databases from the San Francisco Public Library.

The information in these databases is free for anyone who has an SFPL Library Card, so have your Libary Card ready before you begin!

The information inside these subscription databases is not available for free on the web! For this reason, they are a valuable resource.

For directions about how to use this guide, see the box on this page that is titled: How to Search SFPL Articles & Databases.

If you need help searching the databases, go to the Searcher's Toolkit tab and watch the short videos that will help you find the information that you need.

Remember, if you need help, ask your librarian!

 

How to Use this Guide to Search SFPL Articles & Databases

SFPL offers 90 subscription databases for everybody to use who has an SFPL Library Card. Many but not all are listed in alphabetical order by title of the database in this guide.

This guide will show you the databases that are most useful for research by school subject: All Subjects, Art, College & Career, English, History, Music, Science, and World Languages. If you are doing research for Math, Computer Science, or Health, please look under the All Subjects or Science & More tabs.

In this area on the subject pages in this guide, a list of the most useful databases will appear in this area.

Step-by-step instructions appear on each page to help you use the databases.

If you need help searching the databases, go to the Searcher's Toolkit tab and watch the short videos that will help you find the information that you need. Your librarian is always happy to help you too!

 

Have your SFPL Library Card ready before you begin! You must have your SFPL Library Card to use these databases!

 

Step-by-Step Instructions

Step-by-step Instructions

1) Watch the first 3 videos in Step 1: Basic Searching of the Searcher's Toolkit to get started. They are short!

2)Click on the SFPL Articles & Databases box to open the search box in a new window.

3) Pick a database from the subject area list, decide how to access it, and try your search. (You learn how to do this in the first 3 short videos.)

4) Be persistent and patient with yourself as you practice using your new database searching tools.

Always remember to ask your libarian for help whenever you need it!

 

Note: As soon as the search widget is available, this guide will be updated so that you can search inside this guide.

 

Have your SFPL Library Card ready before you begin! You must have your SFPL Library Card to use these databases!

 

SFPL Articles and Databases

Click here to open SFPL's Articles & Databases page in a new window to begin your search.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Elizabeth Keith
Contact Info
Send Email
 

College Level

Many of the databases that SFPL has available are the same ones that most colleges and universities get for their students.

So, if you want to look for college-level information in your subject, a list will appear in this area in most tabs of this guide. Special information appears for subjects that do not have college level information available.

Follow the same step-by-step instructions to access them.

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip