This is the "Project Guidelines" page of the "Researching Real Life found in Fiction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Real Life found in Fiction  

Last Updated: Jan 28, 2016 URL: http://sfusd.libguides.com/fictiontoreallife Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Project Guidelines Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

You have just read a great piece of YA fiction and you've become curious.  Maybe you read A Fault in Our Stars and you want to know more about thyroid cancer.  Or you read Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor and Park and you are curious about child abuse or biracial relationships.  Maybe you've just finished one of Gennifer Choldenko's Al Capone books and you're fascinated by Alcatraz or autism.  Or The Hunger Games has made you interested in government corruption and panopticism.

Great fiction often teaches us about real-world issues and piques our curiosity.  This is your opportunity to delve deeper into those real world issues and learn more about what some of the characters you love are experiencing.

 

Aims/Goals

You will use Library resources and tools in the classroom and at home to delve deeper into a topic of your choice based on the reading in your fiction book.

You will develop a list of keywords or search terms associated with your topic.

You will look through academic databases to find articles about your topic.

You will create an annotated works cited through NoodleTools, a formal list of sources you studied with your thoughts and understandings.

 

Steps

  1. Read a fiction book from cover to cover.  Search the Everett and/or SFPL catalogs if needed to find a book of interest.
  2. Based on your reading, develop keywords for database searching.  You may use Instagrok.
  3. Explore Science in Context and SIRS Issues Researcher for articles related to their topic. Select, read and evaluate 3 database articles from two databases.
  4. Create a Noodletools Annotated Bibliography for fiction and non-fiction materials (a minimum of 4 entries: your fiction book and three database articles).
  5. See an example annotated bibliography here.
 

Teacher Expectations & Assessment

You are expected to read a minimum of:

1 fiction book (cover to cover!) and

3 articles/resources from specified databases. 

You will create a Noodletools project and create annotated citations for each resource.

Your final product will be an annotated Works Cited.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip