This is the "Poetry for Teens" page of the "April is for Poetry - Guide for Teens" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

April is for Poetry - Guide for Teens   Tags: language arts, poetry, young adult  

Books and Online Resources for Poetry
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2017 URL: http://sfusd.libguides.com/poetryforteens Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Poetry for Teens Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Multi-Cultural Poetry Books

Cover Art
The BreakBeat Poets - Kevin Coval; Quraysh Ali Lansana; Nate Marshall (Editors)
Call Number: 811 BRE
Publication Date: 2015
An anthology of poems by and for the hip-hop generation.
Just as blues influenced the Harlem Renaissance and jazz influenced the Black Arts Movement, hip-hop's musical and cultural force has shaped the aesthetics of and given rise to a new generation of American poets.

Cover Art
Cool Salsa - Lori M. Carlson
Call Number: SP 811.54
Growing up Latino in America means speaking two languages, living two lives, learning the rules of two cultures.

Cover Art
The Rose That Grew from Concrete - Tupac Shakur; Tupac Shakur
Call Number: 811 SHA
Here are Tupac's most honest and intimate thoughts written in his own hand at the age of nineteen.

Cover Art
19 Varieties of Gazelle - Naomi Shihab Nye
Call Number: 811.54 NYE
Nye has been writing about being Arab-American, about Jerusalem, about the West Bank, about family all her life.

The Open Boat: Poems from Asian Americans - Garrett K. Hongo; Garrett Hongo
Call Number: 811.54 OPE

Unsettling America: An Anthology of Contemporary Multicultural Poetry - Maria M. Gillan & Jennifer Gillan
Call Number: 811 GIL

 

Contemporary Poetry

Cover Art
Please Excuse This Poem - Brett Fletcher Lauer
Call Number: 811 PLE
Publication Date: 2015
"One hundred poems. One hundred voices. One hundred different points of view. a Here is a cross-section of American poetry as it is right now-full of grit and love, sparkling with humor, searing the heart, smashing through boundaries on every page. Please Excuse This Poem features one hundred acclaimed younger poets from truly diverse backgrounds and points of view.

Cover Art
Modern American Poetry- Echoes and Shadows - Sheila Griffin Llanas
Call Number: 811 LLA
This collection of poetry features thirteen American poets who lived in the first half of the twentieth century.

Cover Art
Honeybee - Naomi Shihab Nye
Publication Date: 2008
Naomi Shihab Nye alights on the essentials of our time-our loved ones, our dense air, our wars, our memories, our planet.

Cover Art
Haiku - Richard Wright; Yodhinobu Hakatuni; Robert L. Tener
Call Number: 811 WRI
Wright became enamored of haiku at the end of his life, and in this strict, seventeen-syllable form he discovered another way of looking at the world.

Poetry Resources for Teens

  • Poets.org: Poetry Resources for Teens
    Online resources, writing help, inspiration suggestions and much more.
  • The Poetry Archive: Student Page
    The Poetry Archive includes a range of resources specially designed to help students. Alongside the recordings, you will find a wealth of background material on the poets, which will help you understand the context for their work. There are filmed interviews with some of them, so you can see and hear them giving the inside story on their writing lives.
  • Poetry 180: A Poem A Day For High School Students
    Poetry 180 is designed to make it easy for students to hear or read a poem on each of the 180 days of the school year. I have selected the poems you will find here with high school students in mind.
  • Poetry Out Loud
    Poetry Out Loud: National Recitation Contest was created by the National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation, Poetry Out Loud is administered in partnership with the State Arts Agencies of all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico.
  • POETRY WRITING AND ANALYSIS GUIDE
    A Short History of Poetry
    How to Read, Comprehend and Analyze Poetry
    Major Poetic Forms
    Quotes About the Art of Poetry
    Major Movements in Poetry
    Tips for Writing Poetry

Public Domain Poetry

  • Bartleby.com Verse
    With tens of thousands of poems by thousands of authors, Bartleby.com offers one of the largest and oldest free full-text collections of verse on the web.
  • Project Gutenburg's Poetry Bookshelf
    free public domain poetry e-books availabe for most devices.
  • Representive Poetry Online
    Representative Poetry Online, version 3.0, includes 4,700 English poems by 723 poets from Caedmon, in the Old English period, to the work of living poets today. It is based on Representative Poetry, established by Professor W. J. Alexander of University College, University of Toronto, in 1912.
  • Infoplease.com: Recommended Online Poetry Collections
    Poetry resources and poetry in the public domain

Share Your Poetry

  • Teen Ink  
      
    Teen Ink, a national teen magazine, book series, and website devoted entirely to teenage writing, art, photos and forums. Students must be age 13-19 to participate, register and/or submit work. Distributed through classrooms by English teachers, Creative Writing teachers, Journalism teachers and art teachers around the country, Teen Ink magazine offers some of the most thoughtful and creative work generated by teens and has the largest distribution of any publication of its kind. We have no staff writers or artists; we depend completely on submissions from teenagers nationwide for our content.
  • Cicada  
      
    CICADA® is a lively literary magazine for young people ages 14 and up. The Web features The Slam, an award-winning online forum for microfiction and poetry. Teens interested in seeing their work in print can check out the Call for Creative Endeavors and view other submissions needs for the magazine. To encourage creative expression, the editors offer online Writing Tips and Quotes and witty interviews with each issue’s Spot Artist Extraordinaire. A section called Favorite Books features Editors’ Picks and Readers’ Picks—and links to sites that offer more great reading for teens. And, of course, visitors to the site can always view a sampling of the latest issue’s contents.
  • Internet Public Library Teen Poetry Wiki
    Express yourself freely in words and find new ways to do it.
    To contribute to the wiki, just fill out our form and request to join. All registered users get their own wiki page and a discussion page for others' responses.
 

Humorous Poetry

Cover Art
A Light in the Attic - Shel Silverstein
Call Number: 811.54

Cover Art
I Could Pee on This - Francesco Marciuliano
Call Number: 811 MAR
Cat lovers will laugh out loud at the quirkiness of their feline friends with these insightful and curious poems from the singular minds of housecats.

Cover Art
Where the Sidewalk Ends - Shel Silverstein
Call Number: 811 SIL

 

Poetry by and for Young Adults

Cover Art
Poetry Speaks Who I Am - Elise Paschen; Dominique Raccah
Call Number: 808.8
Poetry Speaks Who I Am is filled with more than 100 remarkable poems about you, who you are, and who you are becoming.

Cover Art
Time You Let Me In - Naomi Shihab Nye
Call Number: 811 TIM
They are inspiring talented stunning remarkably wise. They are also fearless depressed hilarious impatient in love out of love pissed off. And they want you to let them in.

Cover Art
Walking on the Boundaries of Change - Sara Holbrook
Call Number: 811 HOL
This honest and insightful book includes poems for young adults that confront and question issues of transition, new experiences, difficult choices, and a search for truth.

Poems by Adolescents and Adults: A Thematic Collection for Middle and High School - James Brewbaker & Dawnelle J. Hyland
Call Number: 811 POE

Falling Hard: 100 Love Poems by Teens - Betsy Franco
Call Number: 811 FAL
ISBN: 9780329805043

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip